Progress Pathway

Pupil Progress Information

(Changes to assessment and Reporting from September 2016)

From 2017 qualifications at GCSE will be awarded a new number grade. This change will be phased in over the next 3 years with the number grade replacing the traditional letter grade from A* to G. The number grades will range from 9 to 1 with 8 and 9 representing A* performance. Number grades will used for assessment and will appear on GCSE certificates as appropriate.

GSCE Letter Grade to Number Grade Conversion Table

Old GCSE Grade New Progress 8 Grade
A* 8/9
A 7
B 6
C 5
D 4
E 3
F 2
G 1


The new system will phased in as follows for the current year groups in school:

Year 11        English and Maths only

Year 10        EBACC (English, Maths, Sciences, Modern Foreign Languages and Humanities)

Year 9          All subjects

Year 8          All subjects

Year 7          All subjects

Where number grade are not used traditional GCSE letter grade will remain.

The above timeline will also be reflected in Target grade and assessment grade that are communicated with you at various points during the year.

Pupil Progress Pathways

In addition for pupils in Years 7-9 pupils will be assigned a Pupil Progress Pathway. This is based on their performance in the KS2 tests. The assigned pathway will determine the end of year targets for pupils in Year 7, 8 and 9 through to Year 11. There are 5 pathways to take into account the range of KS2 performances and appropriate targets. The pathway provides information to guide pupils to promote success and what number grades should be achieved to be making expected, good or exceptional progress in a subject. A copy of the pathways is shown below for your convenience.

Please do not hesitate to contact your Head of Year if you require further information or clarification about the above information.

STMCA Progress 8 Pathways 2016-17

Progress Pathway

Be the first to know by joining our newsletter

Discover news, upcoming events, policies and much more...