This qualification is offered by our Computing, Business, Enterprise and Law Department.

Qualification Information

  • Pearson Level 3 BTEC National Certificate in Applied Law (1 Year Pathway)
  • Pearson Level 3 BTEC National Extended Certificate in Applied Law (2 Year Pathway)


Key Stage 5 Curriculum

The Pearson BTEC National Extended Certificate in Applied Law is an Applied General qualification for post-16 learners who want to continue their education at Trinity Sixth Form, progress to higher education, and ultimately to employment within the legal sector.


The Extended Certificate qualification is equivalent in size to one A-Level and aims to provide a detailed introduction to the legal sector. This qualification can be studied alongside A-Level and other vocational qualifications. Both the Certificate and Extended Certificate qualification attract UCAS points, recognised by many higher education providers.


Learners will develop transferable knowledge and skills, valued by higher education providers and employers. Knowledge and skills include:


  • the reading of legal texts
  • effective legal research and writing
  • analytical skills
  • creative development
  • cognitive and problem-solving
  • intrapersonal and interpersonal skills
  • preparation for undergraduate assessment methods


Our strong links with local employers and university institutions provide our learners with the opportunity to engage in simulated legal activities and external visits; including a visit to the Palace of Westminster and the Royal Courts of Justice, to gain an insight into the law-making process and judiciary.



Learners will complete three mandatory units and one optional unit. Through deep learning, our learners will be able to make connections among units and select areas of interest to support their choices for further study and preferred interests.


Year 1 (Certificate)

Unit 1: Dispute Solving in Civil Law (Mandatory External Assessment)

Unit 2: Investigating Aspects of (Mandatory Internal Assessment)


Year 2 (Extended Certificate)

Unit 3: Applying the Law (Mandatory External Assessment)

Optional Unit (Internal Assessment)

  • Unit 4: Aspects of Family Law
  • Unit 5: Consumer Law
  • Unit 6: Contract Law
  • Unit 7: Aspects of Tort


The qualification is graded at: Distinction*, Distinction, Merit and Pass.


Who should I contact for more information?

Mr A. Growcott – Subject Leader


Be the first to know by joining our newsletter

Discover news, upcoming events, policies and much more...